Gratitude

Earlier today someone said that gratitude should be kept within yourself, so that no one can deny your sincerity. I say that’s bullshit.

Gratitude is one of the most beautiful things you can ever feel.

This might sound harsh, but it has served me so well: No one is obligated to help you in any way at all. NO ONE. Not even your mother, father, great-grandmother. Hence, whatever advice, help, company, good feelings, heck, LOVE, that I get from anyone at all, is major to me, and is something that I will always be grateful for. That is a part of someone else, that they’re giving away to no one else, but YOU.

So anytime you can say “thank you”, SAY IT. Anytime you can show gratitude, show it.

You know what happens when you feel grateful everyday? You stop taking things for granted, yet feel like you’re a special part of this world. And then you start feeling satisfied, fulfilled, HAPPY.

It is the most powerful, yet easiest thing you could ever do to yourself today.

Find gratitude in anything, and in anyone. God? Universe? Karl Lagerfeld? Go for it.

Everyday I make it a point to be grateful for anything at all. Grateful for the weather, grateful for my morning coffee, grateful that I can make it out of the house looking half-decent. Grateful when I get help, grateful that someone is nice, bursting with gratitude when someone pulls through for me.

I even have this thing called a gratitude necklace. I wear it everyday, and quite simply, I give thanks to something anytime I see it, touch it, be reminded that I have it on.

Real-time example:

I’ve been feeling a bit sick-ish these past couple of days, but I’m so grateful that it hasn’t escalated to a full-blown fever. And grateful I’m home right now and can have an early night.

What are you grateful for now?

 

Leave a Reply

